Goddess Fish VBT: Lori Toland and The Long Con

Welcome Lori Toland to the Wicked inner sanctum, everyone! Lori is making a stop on her VBT to promote The Long Con, her recenlty released MM story with Loose id.

As part of her stop, Lori agreed to be  interrogated interviewed, so let’s get to know this talented author better.

WSW: Welcome to Wickedly Sexy, Lori. Introduce yourself to our readers not familiar with your books.

L.T: Hi! I’m Lori Toland. I write gay erotic romance, and even sometimes m/f romance. :) I live in Orlando, FL with my hubby and two cats. I love playing video games when I’m not writing or working as a CEO (which is like, never)

WSW: Have you always wanted to be an author? When did you have that ah-ha! moment?

 L.T: Back in 1999. I’d been writing for a while. Back then, there wasn’t a whole lot on the internet as far as crit groups and I didn’t know anything about RWA either. I even had an agent back then willing to try a chance at my writing but I guess I was ahead of my time :)

WSW: If you weren’t writing romance novels, what would you be doing?

L.T: Working my day job. I’m the CEO at the company I started in 1995.

WSW: If given the choice, would you write non-fiction? If yes, what would the topic be?

L.T: Maybe how to start your own company and not die trying. LOL. It’s been a stressful road but rewarding.

WSW: How has your journey been so far in the world of E-publishing?

L.T: It’s been awesome. I’ve been really lucky to work with some of the top editors in the business and I’ve learned a lot.

WSW: I can’t settle down to write without an iced caramel latte and music. What about you? Any weird writing quirks?    

L.T: I can’t write if my husband is watching me. Just like he can’t work out with me watching him. I can write anywhere else, just not around him.

WSW: OMG, me too! Tell us about writing The Long Con. Where did the inspiration come from?

L.T: My husband worked for the government in England and he told me one of the agencies had a logo that looked like the Thundercats (the old cartoon) and it was called Serious Organised Crime Agency. (no really, I didn’t make that up) and bang! I had to write a story about it.

WSW: I have to say, I’m from the West Indies, we have a type of music called Soca there and I kept grinning whenever I read that name in TLC. What was it about this story and its characters that you had to write it?

L.T: Tony Terranova had a gun to my head, not that I needed one. These guys were a joy to write. I thoroughly loved every minute, even the sobbing through the low points.

WSW: What would you say was the hardest and easiest parts of writing The Long Con?

L.T: The easiest parts were the sex and lovemaking between the characters. I loved writing Tony and Bradley being in love. The hardest parts were when there was no hope. I knew the ending, it was already written but there wasn’t a ray of light coming through the darkness during some of the scenes.

WSW: The Long Con is GLBT romance, what is it about the particular genre that inspires you?

L.T: I love the romance genre all together, not just gay romance. It’s all about falling in love with another person. Love isn’t limited to gender nor is sex. For me, it’s just about two people love.

WSW: I so agree. Do you think the gender of the author matters when writing GLBT?

L.T: Absolutely not. Men write women characters all the time. Women write male characters all the time. Why can’t women write two men together? If a straight man writes m/m as a fantasy piece, would we give him a hard time?

WSW: Great answer. What’s your opinion regarding the lack of GLBT romance in the New York markets? Do you see it changing anytime soon?

L.T: Their loss. I think New York is catching up slowly but they will eventually get there. They were way behind on the ebook boom too.

WSW: There’s a voracious appetite on the part of readers for GLBT romance. Why do you think that is? 

L.T: m/m romance is delicious and fat-free. LOL. It feels good to see two characters who have so much going against them get together and have a happily ever after. I know when I wrote The Long Con, to have that happily ever after with Tony and Bradley was really satisfying,

WSW: When was the last time any of your characters made you blush?

L.T: All the time, especially with The Long Con. They were so dirty and naughty and a couple of times while writing scenes in the book, I had to take a step back and say, “Did I really just write that? Wow!”

WSW: LOL I know that feeling. What’s the last book that made you cry?

L.T: The Long Con. I’m not a crier but there were scenes that made me sob. I think my whole twitter list was laughing at me every time I cried.

WSW: What do you hope readers take away from your stories?

L.T: That, somewhere out there, there is someone who will love you, no matter what. There is a person for everyone who understands you and loves you.

WSW: What’s your favorite place in your entire house to write?

L.T: I love writing at my desk. It’s 25 years old, solid oak and it has a lot of wear and tear on it. I have a great mesh chair too that is very comfortable.

WSW: What does sexy mean to you?

L.T: Sexy is what sexy is to you. Everyone has something that turns them on, that flips their sensors and it’s different for everyone. Some people share kinks, some people are vanilla. It’s all about what turns you on. For me, I love submissive beta heroes. Yum!

WSW: Oh, yes! Do you come with any warning labels?

L.T: Only when I’m on steroids. :D Do not disturb while writing.

WSW: LOL And finally, tell readers what other works you’ve got in store for us this year.

L.T: Well, right now I have a lot planned but it’s super secret :D The next release is coming out from Dreamspinner Press that is called Worth The Wait as part of their Daily Dose. J I hope you enjoy it!

Thanks for having me by! :)

**You’re very welcome, Lori!

The Long Con

by Lori Toland

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

British Agent Nathaniel Bradley is tasked with bringing home a stolen heirloom. After tracking the Faberge egg all the way to a group of criminals in New York, Bradley infiltrates a ring of con artists and gets sucked into the role of a high priced prostitute.

While hoping for a chance to take back what is rightfully his, Bradley’s sole mission becomes to seduce Tony Terranova, Jr, the heir to a notorious mafia dynasty. Though Tony is strikingly handsome, the usually dominant Bradley is hesitant to submit to the sexual whims of a dangerous Mafioso.

What Bradley doesn’t expect is for Tony to fall to his knees so eagerly for him, leaving him blindsided by how intensely their dark tastes complement each other. Now Bradley is caught up in a deadly game of lies and desire, where what he truly wants may not be what duty requires.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

EXCERPT:

I walked through the crowd and traded my glass of champagne just as I saw my target. He knew how to dress to stand out, and it wasn’t just the color of his jacket.His thick build was obvious and accentuated by the cut of his jacket. His muscles rippled beneath the expensive material as he lifted a glass of champagne to his mouth. I swallowed my sigh.

He glanced my way, and I froze. Amanda had described him and shown me a few grainy reconnaissance photos, but nothing prepared me for facing him head-on. His dark hair and tanned skin contrasted with his pale blue eyes, and I felt like I had been punched in the stomach.

I held his gaze for a minute and then turned away, but his curious expression made my heart pound. I walked toward another display near the one he stood by, a portrait by a famous Russian artist. Terranova noticed me, but he wasn’t being obvious with his interest.

It was this perfect moment where everything seemed to be falling into place, and for one second I worried this was a setup. Always being on my guard kept me alive, especially during drug busts and dangerous missions. I brushed aside the fears and pushed on.

I looked over at him and shot him an enigmatic smile, one that begged him to come and find out what I was thinking. When I saw him walking in my direction, I mentally patted myself on the back and sipped my champagne as he got closer to me. His gaze never left mine.

I could see why this man intimidated people. His eye contact alone would make almost anyone nervous, but not me. He had an aura about him, as if he were a caged animal kept hungry and was just waiting to pounce. Confidence poured from every ounce of his being. I didn’t look away as he came up to me. I couldn’t; he had seduced me.

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

 CEO by day, erotic romance writer by night, Lori Toland lives in Orlando where the summers are hot but the romance between her characters is even hotter. Writing since the tender age of 13, Lori somehow finds time to play video games and watch movies while taking care of her beloved cats and a husband who will forever be her hero.

Lori’s Website: http://www.loritoland.com

Lori’s Twitter: loritoland

Lori’s Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/lori.toland

BUY LINK: http://www.loose-id.com/The-Long-Con.aspx

http://loritoland.blogspot.com/2012/02/long-con-loose-id-4242012.html

***Lori will be awarding a $25 Amazon GC to one randomly drawn commenter and to the host with the most comments along her tour, so get to commenting people! Follow Lori’s tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates can be found here:  http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2012/03/virtual-book-tour-long-con-by-lori.html

Categories: Author Tour, Avril Ashton | Tags: , , , , , , , | 26 Comments

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “Goddess Fish VBT: Lori Toland and The Long Con

  1. Mary Preston

    One of my favorite television shows is about pulling off different cons. I just know that THE LONG CON is going to be equally exciting & intrigueing.

    Serious Organised Crime Agency – seriously??

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

    • Hi Mary! Good to see you again on this tour :)

      Which show about con artists do you watch? I love both Leverage and Hustle. Is there another one around?

      And Seriously is right! I couldn’t believe they named their organization that. It makes me snicker a little every time. LOL! And then with the Thundercats logo… it’s all over. But Bradley makes the agency sexy ;)

      I hope you enjoy it! :)

    • Hi Mary. I LOVE Leverage and Burn Notice, those shows are the bizness. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Thank you for hosting Lori today.

  3. momjane

    This story sounds awesome. I love a good con story.

  4. Paula Krimer

    I haven’t ever read anything like this before, though I have enjoyed other mystery romances! I’m totally intrigued, and I am a fan of this writer already. Can’t wait!

  5. Hi Avril! Thanks for having me by today. I’m around most of the day to answer questions about the book as well :)

  6. Catherine Lee

    OH…Lori! The cover is sexy. I’m new to romance & erotica and I haven’t worked my way up to M/M yet. I think I’ll get there…but not yet.

  7. Juliana

    Saw you on Joyfully Jay so I decided to check out your blog tour! I love seeing new M/M (my favorite!) and this is such a cool plot! Congrats!
    OceanAkers(at)aol(dot)com

  8. Tracey D

    I enjoyed both the interview and excerpt; both were great reads. I’ve added this to my must have list; I can’t wait to read it.

    booklover0226 at gmail dot com

  9. Thanks for having me by Avril! :)

  10. Trix

    I love Leverage, too! I think the characters have such great chemistry, though I prefer the funnier episodes to the darker ones. Sometimes White Collar will have a good con going, though sometimes they don’t always explain it so well. Psyched for the book!

    • Hi Trix :)

      Yeah, I’ve noticed that with White Collar a little bit but hey, most of us are watching and drooling over Matt Bomer. :D

      I highly recommend Hustle for the well developed story-line and the gotcha moment at the end of the episode, which is what I aimed for in this book. :) I hope I got it.

  11. Karen H in NC

    Just popping in to say HI and sorry I missed visiting with you on party day! Enjoyed reading about your book.

  12. Joanne B

    Thanks for the great interview and excerpt. This book sounds amazing. Can’t wait to read it to see what happens between Bradley and Tony. Thanks for the blog tour.

  13. Jibriel O.

    I love Leverage but White Collar is new to me, have to look this one up, the idea of this book was interesting and not a common trope, I liked that!

    Jibriel.O (at) web (dot) de

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,483 other followers

